Chess News

Tashkent FIDE Grand Prix

Tashkent Grand PrixThe second stage of the FIDE Grand Prix series 2014-2015 will take place from 20th October until 2nd November in Tashkent, Uzbekistan.

Back in 2012 and 2013 Tashkent hosted one of the stages of the Grand Prix series 2012-2013, as well as one of the tournaments of the Women’s Grand Prix series 2013-2014.

The tournament follows the first event which recently concluded in the capital of Azerbaijan. Fabiano Caruano (ITA) and Boris Gelfand (ISR) tied for the first place in Baku Grand Prix and are the leaders in the third GP series.

Both winners from Baku will come directly to Tashkent, as well as other six participants from the previous stage including former world champion and local hero Rustam Kasimdzhanov (UZB), Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (AZE), Teimour Radjabov (AZE), Hikaru Nakamura (USA), Sergey Karjakin (RUS) and Dmitry Andreikin (RUS).

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (FRA), Anish Giri (NLD), Dmitri Jakovenko (RUS) and Baadur Jobava (GEO) are the other 4 participants, who join the GP series 2013-2014 starting from the second tournament.

Live games with analysis

On 15th October FIDE announced the change of the third leg of the Grand Prix series to Tbilisi, Georgia. According to regulations the representative for the new host city is GM Baadur Jobava who replaces GM Ghaem Maghami with his complete playing schedule.

Over eleven rounds, the strongest players in the world will compete in the round robin tournament with the time control of 120 minutes for the first 40 moves, with 60 minutes being added at that point and then each player will be allotted 15 minutes after the second time control and an increment of 30 seconds per move will be allowed from move 61 onwards.

The prize money offered by host city is 120,000 Euros. The winner of Grand Prix in Tashkent will get 20,000 Euros.

A very special cup will be prepared for the strongest player in the Grand Prix series 2014-2015. During the opening ceremony in Baku the Classic Jewelry House Lobortas demonstrated the models of future Big and Small trophies to award the FIDE Grand Prix series winner.

The opening ceremony and the games will take place at the Gallery of Fine Art on the 20th of October. Two previous Grand Prix tournaments were organized here as well.

The Tashkent Grand Prix will be followed shortly with the Tigran Petrosian Memorial and the World Championship Match Carlsen – Anand.

Lotte City Hotel Tashkent Palace **** . Official hotel for the players.

In contrast to the two previous Grand Prix cycles the number of tournaments was decreased from six to four to be held over two years (2014-2015). Each of 16 players of Grand Prix series will play in three tournaments out of four and all his results will be taken into account for the overall final standings of the Grand Prix. The list of all 16 Grand Prix participants is here. It includes 11 qualifiers as per regulations, with four more nominees from the organisers and one from the FIDE President.

The winner and second placed player overall of the Grand Prix Series will qualify for the Candidates Tournament to be held in the last quarter of 2015 or the first half of 2016.

Article by Anastasya Karlovich, courtesy of the official website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top