Tata Steel Chess 2013

Tata Steel Chess 2013 will be the first top tournament of the year

Tata Steel Chess 2013 is taking place in Wijk Aan Zee 12-27 January, 2013. One more time the A group of the first top chess tournament of the year will collect some of the best players in the world. Heading the list is the rating record holder, the Norwegian prodigy Magnus Carlsen, who will be looking to break yet another barrier and reach even higher ELO. His main competition will be composed of his recent London Classic participants World Champion Viswanathan Anand, US top player Hikaru Nakamura, the Olympic gold medalist Levon Aronian, as well as super GMs Fabiano Caruana and Sergey Karjakin. The list is completed by youth and experience that can always bring surprises and stir the medal positions – Wang Hao, Peter Leko, Anish Giri, Pentala Harikrishna, Loek Van Wely, Ivan Sokolov, Erwin L’Ami, and the ex World Champion Yifan Hou.

All news about Tata Steel Chess 2013 / Tata Steel 2013 Group A /Tata Steel 2013 Group B


Tata Steel 2013 schedule

The Tata Steel Chess Tournament has three main tournaments. They are played according to the ’round robin’ system, whereby each competitor plays in turn against every other during the tournament. All three Grandmaster groups have 14 players and start on January 12th. All rounds begin at 13.30 hours, except for the last round on January 27th, which begins at 12.00 hours. There are rest days: on January 16th, 21st, and 24th.

Tata Steel 2013 time control

The time control is 100 minutes for 40 moves, followed by 50 minutes for 20 moves, then 15 minutes for the remaining moves with 30 seconds cumulative increment for each move starting from the first move.

Carlsen chasing new record ELO at Tata Steel 2013


Participants Tata Steel A
GM Carlsen, Magnus NOR 2848
GM Aronian, Levon ARM 2815
GM Caruana, Fabiano ITA 2786
GM Anand, Viswanathan IND 2775
GM Karjakin, Sergey RUS 2775
GM Nakamura, Hikaru USA 2755
GM Wang, Hao CHN 2737
GM Leko, Peter HUN 2732
GM Giri, Anish NED 2715
GM Harikrishna, Pentala IND 2692
GM van Wely, Loek NED 2691
GM Sokolov, Ivan NED 2677
GM L’Ami, Erwin NED 2629
GM Hou, Yifan CHN 2606


Participants Tata Steel B
GM Naiditsch, Arkadij GER 2708
GM Edouard, Romain FRA 2688
GM Movsesian, Sergei ARM 2688
GM Ni, Hua CHN 2681
GM Tiviakov, Sergey NED 2659
GM Nikolic, Predrag BIH 2650
GM Turov, Maxim RUS 2630
GM Rapport, Richard HUN 2621
GM Smeets, Jan NED 2615
GM Dubov, Daniil RUS 2600
GM Grandelius, Nils SWE 2593
GM Ipatov, Alexander TUR 2593
GM Timman, Jan NED 2579
GM van Kampen, Robin NED 2574

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top