Chess News

Tata Steel Chess India Rapid & Blitz 2022 – Participants lists

The fourth edition of the Tata Steel Chess India Rapid & Blitz, India’s biggest chess tournament, will be held from November 29 till December 4, 2022. The Tata Steel Chess India 2022 will this year have the women’s tournament with the same format – rapid and blitz.

The Rapid event will be first on the schedule, taking place from 29 November – 1 December in 9 rounds, round-robin system, with time control of 15 minutes for the entire game with an increment of 10 seconds from Move 1.

Prize Money Rapid (Both Women and Open)`
1st        $ 10.000
2nd       $   5.000
3rd        $   4.000
4th        $   3.000
5th        $   2.000

Blitz event will be a double 10-player Round Robin played on December 3 and 4, with 9 rounds per day. The time control is 3 minutes with an increment of 2 seconds from Move 1.

Prize Money Blitz (Both Women and Open)`
1st        $ 7.500
2nd       $ 4.000
3rd        $ 3.000
4th        $ 2.000
5th        $ 1.000

The very strong line-up features world-class grandmasters and Indian chess stars. Wesley So headlines the Open tournament, together with Hikaru Nakamura, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Nodirbek Abdusattorov, and Parham Maghsoodloo. Vidit Santosh Gujrathi, Arjun Erigaisi, D Gukesh, and Nihal Sarin complete the field together with Praggnanandhaa who will play only the blitz event and Sethuraman SP who will play only in the rapid tournament. You can follow the live broadcast here.

List of players – Tata Steel India Rapid & Blitz 2022 – Open tournament:

  • Wesley So – USA
  • Hikaru Nakamura – USA 
  • Shakhriyar Mamedyarov – Azerbaijan
  • Nodirbek Abdusattorov – Uzbekistan
  • Parham Maghsoodloo – Iran
  • Vidit Gujarathi – India
  • Arjun Erigaisi – India
  • D Gukesh – India
  • R Praggnanandhaa (only blitz) – India
  • Nihal Sarin – India
  • Sethuraman SP (only rapid) – India
Tata Steel Chess India 2021 – Photo by Lennart Ootes

Anna Muzychuk and Mariya Muzychuk are the top seeds of the Women’s tournament. Nana Dzagnidze, Anna Ushenina, Oliwia Kiolbasa, Koneru Humpy, Harika Dronavalli, R Vaishali, and Savitha Shri complete the field. Bhakti Kulkarni will take part in blitz tournament only, and Vantika Agarwal will play only the rapid tournament. You can follow the live broadcast of the games here.

List of players – Tata Steel India Rapid & Blitz 2022 – Women’s tournament:

  • Anna Muzychuk – Ukraine
  • Mariya Muzychuk – Ukraine
  • Nana Dzagnidze – Georgia
  • Anna Ushenina – Ukraine
  • Oliwia Kiolbasa – Poland
  • Koneru Humpy – India
  • Harika Dronavalli – India
  • R Vaishali – India
  • Bhakti Kulkarni (only blitz) – India
  • Savitha Shri – India
  • Vantika Agarwal (only rapid) – India
Tata Steel Chess India 2021; Photo by Lennart Ootes

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top