Chess News

Daniel Dardha wins the Belgian Chess Championship, crosses 2600 ELO

Daniel Dardha is one of the most exciting European chess juniors to follow nowadays. He has been consistently around the top 20 of the junior rating list and is adding more ELO points with every tournament. This weekend Daniel Dardha won convincingly the Belgian Chess Championship 2022 with a score of 8,5/9, adding 9,1 ELO points. Now Dardha is rated 2604,3 and is officially member of the 2600 ELO club.

All news about Daniel Dardha here

Daniel Dardha was excited about the title and shared, “Won the Belgian Championship for the 3rd time with 8.5/9, exceeding the 2600 mark and becoming nr° 1 Belgium. On the next goal!”

This is the third title from the national championship for the young talent. Daniel Dardha won his first Belgian Championship when he was only 13 years old in 2019. His second title was last year, when he was 15. Now at the age of 16 he is Belgian Chess Champion 2022.

More young talents to follow:  Alireza Firouzja / Hans Niemann / Vincent Keymer / Nodirbek Abdusattorov / Gukesh D / Andrey Esipenko / Arjun Erigaisi / Shant Sargsyan / Kirill Schevchenko / Nihal Sarin / Praggnanandhaa / Christopher Yoo

The Belgian Chess Championship is a championship organized yearly by the Koninklijke Belgische Schaakbond/Fédération Royale Belge des Echecs (Royal Belgium Chess Federation). The first unofficial tournaments were organised by the Cercle des Echecs de Bruxelles (the Chess Club of Brussels). In 1920 the “Fédération Belge des Echecs” (Belgium Chess Federation) was established under the supervision of the four principal chess clubs in Belgium at that time: Brussels, Antwerp, Ghent and Liège. The first official Belgian championship was played in 1921.

All Belgian Chess Champions

YearChampion of Belgium
1901Eugène Pécher
1905E. E. Middleton
1906E. E. Middleton
1913F-H. Königs
1921Nicholas Borochovitz
1922Edgard Colle
1923George Koltanowski
1924Edgard Colle
1925Edgard Colle
1927George Koltanowski
1928Edgard Colle
1929Edgard Colle
1930George Koltanowski
1931Marcel Barzin
1932J. Kornreich, Victor Soultanbeieff
1933Paul Devos
1935Arthur Dunkelblum
1936George Koltanowski
*Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1937Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
Paul DevosAlbéric O’Kelly de Galway
Paul Devos
1938Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1940Paul Devos
1941Paul Devos
1942Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1943Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1944Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1945Paul Devos
1946Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1947Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1948Paul Devos
1949Arthur Dunkelblum
1950Robert Lemaire
1951Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1952Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1953Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1954Jos Gobert
1955Jos Gobert
1956Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1957Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
1958Alfons Franck
1959Albéric O’Kelly de Galway
Jozef BoeyFrits Van Seters
1960Robert Willaert
1961Paul Limbos
1962Robert Willaert
1963Paul Limbos
1964Jozef Boey
1965Jozef Boey
1966François Cornelis
1967Jan Rooze
1968Robert Willaert, Albert Vandezande, Y. Ebrahimi
1969Helmut Schumacher
1970Karl Van Schoor
1971Jozef Boey, Roeland Verstraeten
1972Friedhelm Freise
1973Robert Willaert
1974Jean Moeyersons
1975Johan Goormachigh, José Tonoli, Henri Winants
1976Gunter Deleyn
1977Ronald Weemaes
1978Richard Meulders
1979Gunter Deleyn
1980Alain Defize
1981Richard Meulders, Ronny Weemaes
1982Johan Goormachtigh, Thierry Penson
1983Richard Meulders, Alain Defize
1984Michel Jadoul
1985Richard Meulders
1986Luc Winants
1987Robert Schuermans
1988Michel Jadoul, Richard Meulders
1989Richard Meulders
1990Michel Jadoul
1991Richard Meulders
1992Michel Jadoul
1993Gorik Cools
1994Ekrem Cekro
1995Ekrem Cekro
1996Marc Dutreeuw
1997Juri Vetemaa, Ekrem Cekro
1998Ekrem Cekro
1999Pieter Claesen, Serge Vanderwaeren
2000Vladimir Chuchelov
2001Mikhail Gurevich
2002Alexandre Dgebuadze
2003Geert Van der Stricht
2004Bart Michiels
2005Alexandre Dgebuadze
2006Shahin Mohandesi
2007Alexandre Dgebuadze
2008Bruno Laurent
2009Mher Hovhanisian
2010Mher Hovhanisian
2011Bart Michiels
2012Tanguy Ringoir
2013Tanguy Ringoir
2014Geert Van der Stricht
2015Mher Hovhanisian
2016Tanguy Ringoir
2017Mher Hovhanisian
2018Mher Hovhanisian
2019Daniel Dardha
2020Alexandre Dgebuadze
Daniel Dardha
Daniel Dardha

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top