Efimov and Berezovska new Monaco Chess Champions

Grandmaster Igor Efimov (ELO 2390) has won the 2015 Monaco Chess Championship, which was held at the Monaco Chess Club, from 20-25th February.

Efimov scored 5,5 points, the same as Karl Ribbegren (ELO 2202), but thanks to better tie-break, Efimov took the title. GM Algimantas Butnorius (ELO 2377) came clear third with 5 points.

Svetlana Berezovska (ELO 1849) became the Women Champion.

Monaco Chess Championship 2015

Players who qualified for the European Small Nations Championship 2015 to be held in Guernsey (Championships 2014 + 2015) are: GM Igor Efimov, GM Algimantas Butnorius, Karl Ribbegren, FM Pierre Villegas and FM Patrick Van Hoolandt. The substitute is Jean François Nelis.

The Championship was played according to the Swiss System in 7 rounds.

More photos and information on Facebook

News courtesy of ECU

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top