Chess bits

English Chess Federation Awards 2022

The English Chess Federation presented the 2022 chess awards. The Committee have agreed the following eleven awards in seven categories which the ECF Board have ratified. All winners will be presented with an engraved glass trophy recognising their achievement and will, where appropriate, be entitled to use the winners logo.

President’s Award for Services to Chess
Jimmy Adams; Colin Green; Ray Pomeroy; Mick Riding

Contribution to Women’s Chess
Lorin D’Costa

Contribution to Junior Chess
Dale James

Club of the Year
Gosforth Chess Club

Small Club of the Year
Holmfirth Chess Club

Congress of the Year

Contribution to Community Chess
John White and Christopher Skulte
Warwick University Chess Club

No awards were made in the categories of Contribution to Online Chess and Accessible Chess. Next year we will ask for nominations to be made in a more standardised format. This will aid the evaluation and reporting structure.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top