Chess News

Mitropa Cup 2011

Richard Rapport  is going to lead Hungary

Richard Rapport is going to lead Hungary

The Mitropa Cup 2011 takes place from 7th to 16th October in Merlimont, France, with the participation of national teams from Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Slovakia, and Switzerland. The tournament will be round robin event organised with two separate sections, men’s section and women’s section. Each team is composed of four men plus one reserve (for men´s section) and two women plus one reserve (for women’s section) and one team captain.

The Mitropa Cup, officially called the La Coupe de l’Europe Centrale was one of the first really international major European football cups for club sides dating back to 1927. Now the competition is a traditional event happening in chess as well. This was the event where Fabiano Caruana boasted a 2800+ performance in 2008. Italy is the defending champion, both in men and women sections.

Many of the teams this year have traditional experienced Mitropa Cup fighters from Mitropa Cup 2010. Here is the full list of participants.

Mitropa Cup, teams open

Niclas Huschenbeth 2510
Michael Prusikin 2541
Andreas Heimann 2485
Matthias Blьbaum 2388
David Shengelia 2526
Robert Kreisl 2402
Andreas Diermair 2414
Mario Schachinger 2386
Georg Halvax 2326
France 1
Nicolas Brunner 2466
Adrian Demuth 2440
Didier Collas 2402
Clйment Houriez 2331
France 2
Yannick Gozzoli 2522
Sophie Milliet 2374
Silvia Collas 2321
Laurie Delorme 2223
Mathilde Choisy 2203
France 3
Nicolas Tripoteau 2397
Alban Delorme 2306
Victor Stephan 2302
Pierre Barbot 2225
Richard Rapport 2547
Peter Prohaszka 2553
Gabor Nagy 2404
Albert Bokros 2452
Peter Horvath 2450
Michele Godena 2527
Sabino Brunello 2569
Denis Rombaldoni 2517
Luca Shytaj 2507
Daniyyl Dvirnyy 2457
Czech Republic
Martin Petr 2526
Jan Krejci 2489
Stepan Zilka 2517
David Kanovsky 2462
Jaroslav Bures 2415
Martin Petr 2526
Peter Michalik 2511
Milan Pacher 2403
Stefan Mazur 2372
Tamas Petenyi 2347
Jan Plachetka 2388
Joe Gallagher 2501
Oliver Kurmann 2431
Beat Zьger 2407
Emanuel Schiendorfer 2304
Kambez Nuri 2321


Mitropa Cup, teams women

Melanie Ohme 2344
Filiz Osmanodja 2039
Julia Novkovic 2053
Michaela Kessler 2018
Lisa Hapala 1931
Klara Varga 2183
Boglarka Bea 2113
Elena Sedina 2337
Olga Zimina 2337
Marina Brunello 2215
Czech Republic
Tereza Olsarova 2244
Martina Mareckova 2153
Maria Machalova 2184
Monika Motycakova 2102
Maria Machalova 2184


More at the official webpage of the competition.

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top