Chess News

Sydney International Chess Open

GM Dejan Bojkov takes the title in dramatic finish

Dejan Bojkov

GM Dejan Bojkov

The Sydney International Open started in Sydney, Australia, following a rest day after the Doeberl Cup. There were two 9-round tournaments across the five day period, the Open which allows all players to enter and the Sydney International Challengers which is designed for players rated under 2000.

The tournament was held on 6-11 April 2010 at the Parramatta Town Hall with a total prize fund of A$14,000. Principal sponsor was GM Murray Chandler.

The final round started with a quick peace treaty between the Australian champion GM Zhao Zong-Yuan and England’s GM Gawain Jones, which secured them both with a tied first place. But then the things heated up and the viewers followed the remaining games with great excitement.

The experienced GM Vladimir Malaniuk calmly repelled the attack of China’s Li Chao B and converted the extra pawn into a full point. This score eliminated the Doeberl Cup winner from the battle for the first place. FM Daniel Howard Fernandez continued his fantastic run and managed to hold GM Abhijit Kunte to a draw on the second board. With this appearance, Fernandez grabbed an IM norm.

But finally, GM Dejan Bojkov, who was a sole leader after round six, redeemed for the setback in the 8th round and beat GM Dibyendu Barua with black pieces to catch Zhao and Jones on the shared first place. Furthermore, Bojkov is declared winner on the superior (only 0.5 points margin) Buchholz result!

Round 9 top results:
GM Zhao Zong-Yuan – GM Jones Gawain C B ½ – ½
GM Kunte Abhijit – FM Fernandez Daniel Howard ½ – ½
GM Barua Dibyendu – GM Bojkov Dejan 0 – 1
GM Li Chao B GM – Malaniuk Vladimir 0 – 1
GM Panchanathan Magesh Chandran – CM Illingworth Max 1 – 0
GM Smerdon David – IM Solomon Stephen ½ – ½
IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi – IM Macak Stefan ½ – ½
IM Xie George Wendi – FM Rej Tomek 1 – 0
IM Sharma Dinesh – IM Rujevic Mirko 1 – 0
FM Teichmann Erik O M C – Steadman Michael 1 – 0
GM Johansen Darryl – Shen Daniel 1 – 0

Final standings:
1-3. GM Bojkov Dejan BUL 2505, GM Jones Gawain C B ENG 2556 and GM Zhao Zong-Yuan AUS 2592 – 7.0
4-7. GM Malaniuk Vladimir UKR 2582, GM Kunte Abhijit IND 2528, GM Panchanathan Magesh Chandran IND 2543 and FM Fernandez Daniel Howard SIN 2299 – 6.5
8-16. GM Li Chao B CHN 2613, IM Roy Chowdhury Saptarshi IND 2429, GM Smerdon David AUS 2530, GM Barua Dibyendu IND 2479, IM Xie George Wendi AUS 2470, IM Sharma Dinesh IND 2361, IM Macak Stefan SVK 2470, IM Solomon Stephen AUS 2426 and FM Teichmann Erik O M C ENG 2325 – 6.0 etc

More information on the official website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top