Chess News

Capablanca Open Chess Festival in Pretoria

Pretoria, South Africa

Pretoria, South Africa

The 2014 Capablanca Open Chess Festival is taking place from 25th April to 4th May, 2014 at Southdowns College Arena, in Pretoria, the national capital of South Africa, popularly known as the Jacaranda City.

The tournament is organized by the Tshwane Chess in collaboration with the Kasparov Chess Foundation Africa under the auspices of Chess South Africa.

The Festival consists of 4 round robin tournaments and 5 open sections:

Prestige GM (10 player GM norm round robin with locals FM Nicholas Van Der Nat, IM Kenny Solomon, IM Watu Kobese and guests from Belarus, Serbia, Bangladesh, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe).

Prestige IM (10 player IM norm round robin, including the top seeded WGM Toma Katarszyna from Poland)

Prestige A and Prestige B (10 player FIDE rated round robin tournaments)

Section A – Open to all, Section B – Open to players rated 1500 or less, Section C – Open to players rated 1300 or less, born 2003 or later, Section D – Open to players rated 1000 or less, born 2005 or later, Section E – Open to all players born 2007 or later.

30th April, 2014 is a rest day for all Sections, when GM training sessions are provided.

The thirteenth chess champion Garry Kasparov will be attending the award ceremony on Sunday 4 May at 16:00 CET.

Follow the Festival LIVE with Chessdom Arena platform.

Official website/ Live games with triple engine analysis/ Get your copy of Garry’s Choice 2014 now here

Prestige GM starting list:

10 GM Strikovic Aleksa SRB (2533)
3 GM Kasparov Sergey BLR (2480)
1 GM Antic Dejan SRB (2474)
7 GM Murshed Niaz BAN (2464)
9 FM Van Der Nat Nicholas RSA (2366)
5 IM Solomon Kenny RSA (2353)
8 IM Kobese Watu RSA (2333)
2 IM Emojong Elijah UGA (2316)
6 CM Kayonde Andrew ZAM (2280)
4 IM Makoto Rodwell ZIM (2271)

Prestige IM starting list:

3 WGM Toma Katarzyna POL (2300)
7 IM Mwali Chitumbo ZAM (2248)
1 IM Mabusela Johannes RSA (2210)
6 Masango Spencer ZIM (2198)
5 IM Oatlhotse Providence BOT (2181)
9 Van Rensburg Ryan Pierre RSA (2174)
8 Anderson Gavin RSA (2165)
2 Mosetlhe Kgaugelo RSA (2143)
10 Hercules Benjamin Vincent RSA (2123)

Prestige A starting list:

3 Duneas John NZL (2103)
2 Kaulule Kela ZAM (2045)
9 Wilken Justin RSA (1986)
5 Meintjes Jacques C. RSA (1975)
4 Mare Eben RSA (1967)
6 Nel Andre RSA (1953)
8 Masungwini Michael T RSA (1931)
10 Hoek Cornelis RSA (1890)
7 WIM Solomons Anzel RSA (1887)
1 WIM Frick Denise RSA (1885)

Prestige B starting list:

5 Katema Patrick ZIM (1876)
7 Wasserman Johan F. RSA (1816)
2 WFM Du Toit Sune RSA (1702)
4 WCM Breedt Shade RSA (1686)
3 Collen Benjamin C. RSA (1646)
1 Roets Marius H. RSA (1516)
8 Grobbelaar Jacqui RSA (1473)
6 Essa Naseem Ahmed RSA (1460)
9 Reddy Ananta RSA (1270)
10 Dyakuseni Peacemaker ZIM (0)

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top