Chess News

56th Ilmar Raud Memorial Tournament

The 56th edition of the Ilmar Raud Memorial Chess Tournament will take place 3-10 July at the Viljandi Sports Center in Viljandi, a town in southern Estonia. This year, the event will include qualifications for Estonian Men’s and Women’s Individual Chess Championships, Estonian Junior Chess Championships, and Estonian Seniors Chess Championships. Based on the final results, Estonian best female and male players will qualify for the National finals.

The event will be played in 9 rounds, swiss system, with time control: 90 minutes for 40 moves, plus 15 minutes till the end of the game, with an increment of 30 seconds per move, starting from the move one. The current starting rank list of players is led by GM Tomas Laurusas, GM Kaido Kulaots and GM Paulius Pultinevicius. (scroll down for starting list)
Throwback: GM Aleksej Aleksandrov convincing in Ilmar Raud Memorial / GM Arturs Neiksans tops 49th Ilmar Raud Memorial 2015

The tournament is dedicated to the memory of Ilmar Raud, a chess player from Viljandi who was a two-time Estonian Chess Champion, winner of bronze medal at the Buenos Aires Male Olympics in 1939, and one of the best and most talented chess players of Estonia in the late 1920s and 1930s.

Current starting list of participants:

No. NameFEDRtgI
1GMLaurusas Tomas LTU2561
2GMKulaots Kaido EST2537
3GMPultinevicius Paulius LTU2524
4GMMiezis Normunds LAT2448
5GMStarostits Ilmars LAT2441
6GMKanep Meelis EST2424
7IMSeeman Tarvo EST2411
8IMSirosh Ilja EST2402
9IMKiik Kalle EST2381
10IMShishkov Andrei EST2366
11IMSakalauskas Vaidas LTU2327
12 Vorobjov Pavel EST2278
13IMBorsos Bogdan UKR2200
14 Krivenko Dion EST2109
15 Medar Marti EST2063
16 Soot Margus EST2062
17 Andrijashkin Deniss EST2006
18 Sadekov Maksim EST1993
19 Pedmanson Albert EST1979
20 Heinmets Tonu EST1961
21 Kull Tormi EST1826
22 Protassov Vlad EST1824
23 Hansson Markus EST1724
24 Kruusiauk Heda EST1677
25 Kao Kermo EST1656
26 Urgas Jaan EST1638
27 Staub Madis EST1555
28 Polendik Tiina EST1514
29 Sepandi Jaak EST1507
30 Pallum Rasmus EST1435
31 Oim Mikk Kaarel EST1297
32 Lehes Erik Johannes EST1275
33 Lain Sander EST1219
34 Roots Lem-Leonhard EST1212
35 Povvat Aalo EST1084
36 Zafra Kim Yutangco PHI0


Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top