Chess News

Arkady Dvorkovich elected FIDE President (Updated)

Arkady Dvorkovich is elected new FIDE President at the General Assembly that took place on 3rd October in Batumi, Georgia.

Members of the Presidential Ticket of Arkady Dvorkovich are elected into office:

Bachar Kouatly – Deputy President
Sewa Enyonam Fumey – General Secretary
Mahir Mammedov – Vice President
Julio Granda Zuniga – Vice President
Zhu Chen – Treasurer

Kremlin announced that President Vladimir Putin congratulated Arkady Dvorkovich by telephone:
“The President expressed the hope that the election of A. Dvorkovich to this post will serve the benefit of chess and will help ensure that chess will be cleared of any attempts at politicization and remain a pure sport from politics.”

Arkady Dvorkovich

Arkady Dvorkovich

Prime Minister of Russia Dmitry Medvedev tweeted: “Congratulations to the World Chess Federation on electing its new president. Best of luck, @advorkovich!”

Zurab Azmaiparashvili is re-elected President of the European Chess Union with 44 out of 50 votes.

Lewis Ncube is re-elected President of the African Chess Confederation, despite Essis Essoh being the clear favourite. It is astonishing that only a day before the financial report of Lewis Ncube administration was rejected by the majority of African countries.

Jorge Vega is re-elected President of the Confederation of Chess for Americas

Sheikh Sultan bin Khalifah Al Nahyan is re-elected President of the Asian Chess Federation.

Update: On the 2nd day of the Congress the Presidential Board was (almost) completed.

Vice Presidents:
Martha Baquero (Ecuador) elected 1st round
Michael Khodarkovsky (USA) elected 1st round
Anastasia Sorokina (Belarus) elected 1st round
Adeyemi Olalekan (Nigeria) elected 2nd round, Short ticket
Akaki Iashvili (Georgia) elected 2nd round
Tahar Battikh (Tunisia), appointed, former Kirsan Ilyumzhinov ticket
Nigel Short (UK), appointed, Short ticket
Gulkiz Tulay (Turkey) appointed
Lukasz Turlej (Poland) appointed, Short ticket
Ye Jiangchuan (China) appointed

Honorary Vice Presidents appointed by FIDE President:
Mohammad Jafar Kambouzia (Iran)
DV Sundar (India)
Ian Wilkinson (Jamaica)
4th name was ready but appointment abruptly cancelled after an incident not related to FIDE General Assembly

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top