Chess News

FIDE World Schools Chess Championships 2015

The ASEAN Chess Academy, the World Chess Federation (FIDE) and the Thailand Chess Association have the honour of inviting all federations and eligible players for the World Schools Individual Chess Championships 2015 to be organised in Pattaya, Thailand from 6th May (arrival) to 15th May (departure) 2015.

There shall be 6 categories; namely Under-07, Under-09 Under-11, Under-13, Under-15 and Under-17 with separate events for Open and Girls.

Entitled to participate are players who shall not have reached the age of 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 before 1 January 2015:
Under-07: Born before 1 January 2008;
Under-09: Born before 1 January 2006;
Under-11: Born before 1 January 2004;
Under-13: Born before 1 January 2002;
Under-15: Born before 1 January 2000;
Under-17: Born before 1 January 1998.

Where possible, each category shall be conducted in the Swiss System of 9 rounds. Each player shall have 90 minutes for 40 moves and 30 minutes for the rest of the game with the addition of 30 seconds per move starting from the first move.

The Playing Venue & Official Hotel shall be the Dusit Thani Pattaya, a beach resort in Pattaya town which is about 45 minutes drive from the international airport.

Aerial view of The Dusit Thani Pattaya

Aerial view of The Dusit Thani Pattaya

The following have a personal right and are entitled to participate provided they fulfill the age condition:
– The Champions of the World Schools Championships 2014
– The Continental Schools Champions 2014

FIDE member federations & FIDE-endorsed Chess Academies shall have the right to send as many players as they wish.

Before the beginning of the first round, a list of the prizes to be awarded to at least the 10 highest placed participants, including special prizes shall be published together with the rules for their award. The Organizer shall also award Gold, Silver and Bronze medals to the players taking the first three places in each event.

For Under-13, Under-15 & Under-17 categories, finishing first equal up to 3 players shall be awarded the FM/WFM title. The Silver & Bronze Medal winners shall be awarded the CM/WCM title.

For Under-07, Under-09 & Under-11 categories, finishing first equal up to 3 players or Silver & Bronze Medal winners shall be awarded the CM/WCM title.

Download full Regulations (PDF)

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top