GM Ruben Felgaer is champion of Argentina

GM Ruben Felgaer won his 5th title of Argentinian Chess Champion after defeating GM Federico Perez Ponsa 3-1 in blitz tiebreak.

In the regular 14-player round robin competition the two Grandmasters shared the first place with 9,5 points each, leaving the nearest follower point and a half behind.

The 89th Argentina Chess Championship was held on 9-19th July at the Hotel Atrium Gualok in Roque Saenz Peña, Chaco.

Federico Perez Ponsa - Ruben Felgaer

Federico Perez Ponsa – Ruben Felgaer

Final standings:

1-2. GM Perez Ponsa Federico ARG 2521 and GM Felgaer Ruben ARG 2549 – 9.5
3. IM Villanueva Mario ARG 2413 – 8
4-6. Lorenzini Martin ARG 2488, GM Alonso Salvador ARG 2508 and GM Mareco Sandro ARG 2592 – 7
7-8. IM Pichot Alan ARG 2424 and IM Liascovich Lucas ARG 2478 – 6.5
9. IM Iermito Sebastian ARG 2475 – 6
10-12. Manzone Alessandro ARG 2317, IM Obregon Andres Carlos ARG 2502 and IM Mahia Gustavo ARG 2366 – 5.5
13. IM Real De Azua Ernesto ARG 2443 – 4.5
14. GM Slipak Sergio ARG 2452 – 3

Tournament website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top