Qatar Masters Open

The Qatar Masters, a new mega-open chess tournament, is set to take place from 25th November to 5th December at the 5-star Crowne Plaza Hotel in Doha, Qatar.

The organizers are excited to have such great chess players as Vladimir Kramnik, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Anish Giri, Alexei Shirov, Gata Kamsky, Pentala Harikrishna, Pavel Eljanov and many others.

159 players already confirmed their participation.

The total prize fund is $110,000, with top finishers earning $25,000 / $15,000 / $10,000 / $7,000 / $6,000 / $5,000 / $4,000 / $3,000 respectively.

The organizers have awarded ten wild-card invitations during the Tromso Chess Olympiad. These players are invited to play in Qatar Masters Open 2014 with travel, hotel and food expenses covered by the organizers.

The wild-card winners are:
IM Belouadah Saad 2320 (Algeria)
FM Vazquez Guillermo 2323 (Paraguay)
GM Aleksandar Indjic 2539 (Serbia)
IM Goh Wei Ming Kevin 2433 (Singapore)
GM Gomez John Paul 2526 (Philippines)
WGM Nemcova Katerina 2315 (USA)
WGM Gara Ticia 2321 (Hungary)
WGM Gomes Mary Ann 2352 (India)
WGM Golubenko Valentina 2269 (Croatia)
WGM Foisor Sabina-Francesca 2252 (USA)

Porto Arabia in the Pearl

Tournament website

Photo by

Chess, chess news and tournaments by Chessdom © 2007 - 2018