Icelandic Chess Championship Concluded

The Icelandic Chess Championship was organized by the Icelandic Chess Federation from 13th to 23rd April in Kópavogur, the second largest city in Reykjavik. The championship was the strongest that has been held this century, with four Grandmasters and an average rating of 2398.

Twelve players competed in the round robin tournament. Top seeded was the 11-times national champion Hannes Stefansson.

IM Bragi Thorfinnsson and GM Throstur Thorhallsson shared the first place with 7.5/11 points each. Thorfinnsson took the title on the better tie-break. Friðrik Jensen Karlsson informs: There is a playoff between Thorfinnsson and Thorhallsson scheduled for May for the title.

IM Bragi Thorfinnsson

IM Bragi Thorfinnsson

GM Throstur Thorhallsson

GM Throstur Thorhallsson

Final standings:

1. IM Thorfinnsson Bragi 2421 – 7.5
2. GM Thorhallsson Throstur 2398 – 7.5
3. IM Arngrimsson Dagur 2361 – 7
4. GM Danielsen Henrik 2504 – 7
5. FM Kjartansson David 2305 – 5.5
6. GM Stefansson Hannes 2531 – 5.5
7. GM Kristjansson Stefan 2500 – 5.5
8. IM Kjartansson Gudmundur 2357 – 5
9. FM Bjornsson Sigurbjorn 2393 – 4.5
10. IM Thorfinnsson Bjorn 2416 – 4
11. Gislason Gudmundur 2346 – 3.5
12. Jensson Einar Hjalti 2245 – 3.5

The last year champion GM Hedinn Steingrimsson did not defend the title.

This is the second time that the championship is held in Kópavogur. The first time was in the year 2000, when IM Jon Viktor Gunnarsson won it.

There were several chess events taking place concurrently with the national Championship: the Kópavogur school championship, the Iceland high school championship, and the match between the senior and junior teams of the Kópavogur Chess Club.

Official website

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top