Chess News

Sam Shankland’s reaction after illegal move which cost him a loss

GM Sam Shankland yesterday played the illegal move which cost him a loss and the USA team left without an important victory. After moving the King to an attacked square, Shankland was forced to play the legal move with the same piece according to the touch-move rule, and any legal move with the King was immediately losing. Shankland was upset with his loss, and after the game posted on his twitter account: I’d like to thank all of my friends and fans who wrote me supportive messages after what happened today, and there were a lot of you. The last 13 months have really tested my threshold for emotional pain, but eventually I will come back stronger. I always do. Replay the match here / Results Round 7 open section

Women’s section LIVE / Open section LIVE
Reviews and reports: Round 7 results (open section) / Round 7 results (women’s section) / Round 7 report
Read moreGM Sam Shankland loses immediately after playing the illegal move

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top