Chess News

Capablanca Memorial 2014

Tournament Capablanca in MemoriamThe 49th edition of the Tournament Capablanca in Memoriam 2014 will take place on 7-18th May at the Habana Riviera Hotel in La Havana, Cuba.

The event is organized by the Cuban Chess Federation and the Instituto Nacional de Deportes Educación Física y Recreación (INDER).

This chess festival will be played in three groups:

The Elite Group will once again be a six-player double round robin, the strongest in the history of the event.

The players are Leinier Dominguez (Cuba, winner in 2004, 2008 and 2009), Vassily Ivanchuk (Ukraine, winner in 2005-2007 and 2010-2012), Wesley So (Philippines, first participation), Francisco Vallejo (Spain, winner in 2001), Zoltan Almasi (Hungary, winner in 2013) and Lazaro Bruzon (Cuba, winner in 2002).

The Premier Group will be a 10-player round robin with other top Cuban players and guests from Peru, Italy, Canada.

The players are GM Yuniesky Quesada (Cuba), GM Emilio Cordova (Peru), GM Isan Ortiz (Cuba), GM Danyyil Dvirnyy (Italy), GM Bator Sambuev (Canada), GM Yuri Gonzalez (Cuba), GM Yusnel Bacallao (Cuba), IM Carlos Hevia (Cuba) and IM Yasser Quesada (Cuba).

The Open A Group will be played over 10 rounds of Swiss system with about 100 participants. This section is open to the players with international titles and those rated above 2300 FIDE, youth champions and the qualifiers from last year’s Open B.

News by Miguel Ernesto

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top