Chess News

Peruvian Chess Championships 2022

The Peruvian Open and Women’s National Chess Championships 2022 will take place from 17-22 May in Lima.
LIVE now: Czech National Chess Championship 2022

The Open event attracted 39 entries who will compete for the National Champion title in 9 swiss rounds, with time control: 90 minutes + 30 seconds of an increment per each move. The battlefield is led by GM Jorge Cori, GM Cristhian Cruz, GM Kevin Joel Cori Quispe and IM Renato Terry. (scroll down for the starting rank list)

The Women’s event will have 9 players competing in 8 round robin rounds and the top seeds are WIM Ingrid Aliaga Fernandez, WFM Paula Elizabeth Paredes Bustamante and WIM Mitzy Mishell Caballero Quijano. The time control will be 90 minutes + 30 seconds of an increment per each move. (scroll down for the starting rank list)

The total prize fund of the events will be more than 15.000 sol (around 4.000 euros) and the top two players of each section will secure their spots in the Peruvian National Teams for the upcoming 44th Chess Olympiad 2022 in Chennai. If two or more players tie for the top in both Open and Women’s events, the Winners will be determined in playoffs.
Read more: Wojtaszek and Rudzinska win Polish Chess Championships 2022

Starting rank list – Peruvian Open Chess Championship 2022:

No. NameFEDRtgI
1GMCori Jorge PER2647
2GMCruz Cristhian PER2582
3GMCori Quispe Kevin Joel PER2505
4IMTerry Renato PER2504
5GMVera Siguenas Deivy PER2498
6IMEscalante Ramirez Brian Sebasti PER2482
7IMFernandez Fernando PER2435
8IMLeiva Gianmarco PER2405
9WGMCori T. Deysi PER2367
10IMQuirhuayo Chumbe German Gonzalo PER2296
11 Pena Morales Hugo PER2267
12 Flores Tomasto Luis PER2227
13FMPrincipe Gerson PER2226
14FMRojas Salas Steven PER2210
15FMGallo Ponce Elbert PER2201
16FMFlores Quillas Diego Saul Rodri PER2193
17CMArias Gaviria Mario Alexis PER2181
18CMAlvarado Zamora Albert PER2148
19 Paredes Lagos Anthony Javier PER2117
20 Flores Arroyo Luis PER2000
21 De La Cruz Gutierrez Franklin Oscar PER1983
22 Varillas Jimenez Ivan PER1968
23 Ramos Castro Aldair PER1930
24 Santiago Lastra Nefi PER1923
25 Reyes Zavaleta Fabian Ricardo PER1902
26 Hernandez Ojeda Garry Anatholy PER1858
27 Llanos Rojas Jorge PER1832
28 Vega Paucar Emely Bachellet PER1826
29 Parra Gonzales Andre Leonardo PER1817
30 Jimenez Salas Maria Teresa PER1813
31 Quiroz Alva Franco Rodrigo PER1788
32 Reque Chafloque Anthony PER1753
33 Choque Ordono Mijail Yasser PER1710
34 Reyes Zavaleta Diego Alexander PER1684
35 Ramirez Sifuentes Luis Angel PER1674
36 Villafuerte Mamani Khalid Stephano PER1652
37 Palomino Landeo Diego Fernando PER1624
38CMCardenas Lima Vincent Matias PER1606
39 Janampa Javier Brandon Daniel PER1517


Starting rank list – Peruvian Women’s Chess Championship 2022:

No. NameFEDRtgI
7WIMAliaga Fernandez Ingrid Y PER2204
4WFMParedes Bustamante Paula Elizab PER2176
1WIMCaballero Quijano Mitzy Mishell PER1994
6 Zarate Oyague Flor De Maria PER1983
3 Bravo Mallco Kate Azumi PER1978
9WFMFelix Vega Aurora Edith PER1935
2WFMGarcia Andrada Heidy Nicole PER1918
8WCMAguilar Oblitas Yadhira PER1651
5 Tacas Cardenas Andrea Ximena PER1601


Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top