Chess News

English teams for the 2016 Chess Olympiad announced

The 42nd FIDE Chess Olympiad starts on September 2nd in Baku, Azerbaijan. The English Chess Federation has announced the teams for Open and Women’s section.

The Open team comprises Michael Adams, David Howell, Nigel Short, Luke McShane, and Gawain Jones. The non-playing captain will be Malcolm Pein.

The Women’s team comprises Jovanka Houska, Dagne Ciuksyte, Akshaya Kalaiyalahan, Sarah Longson, and Kanwal Bhatia. The captain and trainer will be Jon Speelman.

England flag

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top