Chess bits

2nd Vugar Gashimov Memorial (Update)

The 2nd Vugar Gashimov Memorial should take place on 16-25th April in Shamkir, Azerbaijan, reported.

The event will be a 10-player round robin. The list was announced on Chessdom on 9th February as:

World champion Magnus Carlsen (Norway, 2863), Fabiano Caruana (Italy, 2802), former world champion Viswanathan Anand (India, 2791), Anish Giri (Netherlands, 2790), Wesley So (USA, 2788), Vladimir Kramnik (Russia, 2783), Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (France, 2762), Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (2754), Michael Adams (2746) and Rauf Mamedov (2651).

According to one of the participants, the 2015 champion of Azerbaijan GM Rauf Mamedov is likely to replace GM Wesley So, who is playing in the US Chess Championship until 14th April.

Update (1st March): Wesley So signed contract for Shamkir tournament (unofficial)

Teimour Radjabov said it is a great pleasure to have tournaments like Shamkir and World Cup organized in Azerbaijan. He added that Gashimov Memorial will probably be the strongest tournament this year.

Magnus Carlsen was the winner of the first Vugar Gashimov Memorial tournament in April last year.

Update (1st April): Teimour Radjabov withdraws due to health reasons, replaced by Michael Adams

Vugar Gashimov

Vugar Gashimov

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022

To Top