3rd Vugar Gashimov Memorial – Participants

Vugar Gashimov monumentThe 3rd Vugar Gashimov Memorial – Shamkir Chess 2016 will be held from 26th May to 4th June in Shamkir, Azerbaijan, e3e5.com reported.

The roster for the ten-player round robin tournament has been finalized.

The organizers have been waiting for the World Champion Magnus Carlsen, who also won the first and second edition of the event, to confirm the participation, but finally the Norwegian is not competing this year.



Fabiano Caruana – USA
Anish Giri – Netherlands
Sergey Karjakin – Russia
Pavel Eljanov – Ukraine
Pentala Harikrishna – India
Hou Yifan – China
Shakhriyar Mamedyarov – Azerbaijan
Teimour Radjabov – Azerbaijan
Eltaj Safarli – Azerbaijan
Rauf Mamedov – Azerbaijan

Chessdom is dedicated to professional and independent coverage of chess news and events from all over the globe! Join us for live chess games, interviews, video and photo reports, and social media reactions. Follow the development of the strongest chess software, which affects all chess today, via the Top Chess Engine Championship with its 24/7 live broadcast with chat.

Copyright © 2007-2022 Chessdom.com

To Top